Where to begin?

I started by buying the book, “It Starts With Food”, but the whole program is available for free on the Whole 30 website. I want to know why I’m doing this and what to expect. I want to have everything in place (food, recipes, etc.) before I start day 1 because I plan to succeed with this.  So I also bought their second book, “The Whole30 – The 30-Day Guide to TOTAL HEALTH and FOOD FREEDOM”.  Sounds like exactly what I’m looking for!  It’s not going to be easy, but it will be worth it.  I’ve included a link below for vegetarians like me, but for this program I do plan to include eggs and fish for protein as they suggest.

Basically I’ll be eliminating all foods that can possibly cause unwanted responses in my body.  Next, I’ll replace them with foods that meet the Whole30 “Good Food Standards”.  The foods that we eat should:

  • Promote a healthy psychological response.
  • Promote a healthy hormonal response.
  • Support a healthy gut.
  • Support immune function and minimize inflammation.

That’s easy enough! It’s not permanent – it’s 30 days, then a few days to reintroduce foods and see how they affect me.  I can do this!  What will I be missing from my diet?  Only a few things:

  • Sugar (in any form except naturally in fruit)
  • Alcohol
  • Grains (all)
  • Legumes (beans, peas, lentils, soy, and peanuts)
  • Milk (and cheese, yogurt)

What will my diet include?  Basically, you eat meat, seafood, eggs, vegetables, fruit, and natural fats.  The basic rules are here.

From Melissa and Dallas about Whole30:
“It is not hard. Don’t you dare tell us this is hard.  Quitting heroin is hard. Beating cancer is hard. Drinking your coffee black. Is. Not. Hard.”

Helpful links:

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

